Has Mark O’Brien lost it?

August 23, 2006

shockWill somebody please explain Mark Condo O’Brien’s column today? Bass Pro Shop? How does that fit in with his condos idea? Then the slap at Frank Patti – this is like watching Bill O’Rielly try to be Jon Stewart.

Mark O’Brien: Fishing for new park ideas, good vibes for museum and fatherly Frank

7 Responses to “Has Mark O’Brien lost it?”

  1. Tim Mulroy Says:

    Plain and simple…..YES, he has

  2. R Maxwell Says:

    I sent Mark an email last fall after he wrote an especially negative piece, the gist of which was that Pensacola will never overcome its problems, so our young people should flee. I questioned why he lived here if he thinks it is such a dismal place. Here is his response:

    From: Mark Obrien [mailto:markobrien@pensacolanewsjournal.com]
    Sent: Thursday, September 01, 2005 11:23 AM
    To: R Maxwell
    Subject: RE: why are you here?

    Thank you for the note.

    I’m sorry you feel that way, but I am trying to motivate people to take more action and move more quickly to improve this community, which has been my hope for 27 years and will continue to be my home.

    We already have the Chamber of Commerce, the City Council and the Escambia Commission and numerous other civic boosters repeatedly mouthing words of encouragement, and my feeling is 1) they’re not always accurate and 2) the town sometimes needs a “bad cop” to get it moving, especially since so many Pensacolians are so defensive about “outsiders” even those like me who have lived the majority of my life here and raised a family etc — and may get motivated enough to disprove my statements.

    My job is to tell the truth. You’re welcome to make such dramatic improvements that I have to write a column eating crow someday… something I will be glad to do.

    Sincerely,

    Mark O’Brien

    So, Mark does actually care about Pensacola. He’s just playing the “bad cop”.

  3. MarilynPcola Says:

    Has he lost it seems to suggest he ever had it. He didn’t. Never will.

  4. Pensacola Pete Says:

    Gosh, Mr. O’Brien, how about a really swell Wal-Mart Super Center on the property? They sell sporting stuff, too and they don’t pay those fancy hourly wages like Bass Pro Shops.

    Seriously, Marko, this is the most bone headed suggestion that has yet to come down the road. Let’s sacrifice the maritime museum, confernce center, hall of fame, multi-use stadium, classrooms and lots of greenspace in favor of a RETAIL CHAIN STORE.

  5. roberrt Says:

    The only thing boneheaded here is that it’s a moot point unless the measure fails (and I’m predicting it passes.) The suggestion isn’t even O’Brian’s. And it appears that Outzen feels that he is the only person allowed to take a slap at others.

  6. MarilynPcola Says:

    Oh hell let’s just build four Walgreens, three CVSs, and a ton of strip malls on the property. Then it will look just like every other part of Pensacola. Why change, right?

  7. Wish_I_Could_Vote Says:

    You know, I thought maybe I just missed something with his column. I was left scratching my head.

    “Is it a Pensacola thing?”

    “Do I not get it because I live in Milton?”

    “Am I really that blonde?”

    I’m glad it wasn’t just me.

Leave a Reply

